> F.A.Q.
> Regulatory Authorities
> Which are the Least Developed Countries (LDCs)?

Which are the Least Developed Countries (LDCs)?

The Least Developed Countries (LDCs) is a list of the countries that, according to the United Nations, exhibit the lowest indicators of socioeconomic development, with the lowest Human Development Index ratings of all countries in the world. A country is classified among the Least Developed Countries if it meets three criteria:
  • Poverty – adjustable criterion based on GNI per capita averaged over three years. As of 2015 a country must have GNI per capita less than US $1,035 to be included on the list, and over $1,242 to graduate from it.
  • Human resource weakness - based on indicators of nutrition, health, education and adult literacy.
  • Economic vulnerability - based on instability of agricultural production, instability of exports of goods and services, economic importance of non-traditional activities, merchandise export concentration, handicap of economic smallness, and the percentage of population displaced by natural disasters.
List of Least Developed Countries as of May 2016:
 Afghanistan  Ethiopia  Niger
 Angola  Gambia  Rwanda
 Bangladesh  Guinea  Săo Tomé and Príncipe
 Benin  Guinea-Bissau  Senegal
 Bhutan  Haiti  Sierra Leone
 Burkina Faso  Kiribati  Solomon Islands
 Burundi  Laos  Somalia
 Cambodia  Lesotho  South Sudan
 Central African Republic  Liberia  Sudan
 Chad  Madagascar  Tanzania
 Comoros  Malawi  Togo
 Democratic Republic of the Congo  Mali  Tuvalu
 Djibouti  Mauritania  Uganda
 East Timor  Mozambique  Vanuatu
 Equatorial Guinea  Myanmar  Yemen
 Eritrea  Nepal  Zambia

  Back to all F.A.Q.