> F.A.Q.
> Commercial Aviation
> Which are the Least Developed Countries (LDCs)?

Which are the Least Developed Countries (LDCs)?

The Least Developed Countries (LDCs) is a list of the countries that, according to the United Nations, exhibit the lowest indicators of socioeconomic development, with the lowest Human Development Index ratings of all countries in the world. A country is classified among the Least Developed Countries if it meets three criteria:
  • Poverty - adjustable criterion based on Gross National Income (GNI) per capita averaged over three years. As of 2015 a country must have GNI per capita less than US $1,035 to be included on the list, and over $1,242 to graduate from it.
  • Human resource weakness - based on indicators of nutrition, health, education and adult literacy.
  • Economic vulnerability - based on instability of agricultural production, instability of exports of goods and services, economic importance of non-traditional activities, merchandise export concentration, handicap of economic smallness, and the percentage of population displaced by natural disasters.
List of Least Developed Countries as of August 2022:
Afghanistan Guinea Sao Tome and Principe
Angola Guinea-Bissau Senegal
Bangladesh Haiti Sierra Leone
Benin Kiribati Solomon Islands
Bhutan Lao People’s Democratic Republic Somalia
Burkina Faso Lesotho South Sudan
Burundi Liberia Sudan
Cambodia Madagascar Timor-Leste
Central African Republic Malawi Togo
Chad Mali Tuvalu
Comoros Mauritania Uganda
Democratic Republic of the Congo Mozambique United Republic of Tanzania
Djibouti Myanmar Yemen
Eritrea Nepal Zambia
Ethiopia Niger  
Gambia Rwanda  

  Back to all F.A.Q.