> F.A.Q.
> Regulatory Authorities
> Which are the Small Island Developing States?

Which are the Small Island Developing States?

Small Island Developing States (SIDS) are low-lying coastal countries that tend to share similar sustainable development challenges, including small but growing populations, limited resources, remoteness, susceptibility to natural disasters, vulnerability to external shocks, excessive dependence on international trade, and fragile environments. Their growth and development is also held back by high communication, energy and transportation costs, irregular international transport volumes, disproportionately expensive public administration and infrastructure due to their small size, and little to no opportunity to create economies of scale.

The SIDS were first recognized as a distinct group of developing countries at the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development in June 1992. 

List of Small Island Developing States (UN Member States):
Antigua and Barbuda Guinea-Bissau Seychelles
Bahamas Guyana Singapore
Bahrain Haiti Solomon Islands
Barbados Jamaica St. Kitts and Nevis
Belize Kiribati St. Lucia
Cabo Verde Maldives St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Comoros Marshall Islands Suriname
Cuba Mauritius Timor-Leste
Dominica Nauru Tonga
Dominican Republic Palau Trinidad and Tobago
Federated States of Micronesia Papua New Guinea Tuvalu
Fiji Samoa Vanuatu
Grenada Săo Tomé and Príncipe  

List of Small Island Developing States (non-UN Member States):
Anguilla Cayman Islands Martinique
Montserrat Commonwealth of Northern Marianas New Caledonia
Puerto Rico Cook Islands Niue
American Samoa Curacao Saint Maarten
Aruba French Polynesia Turks and Caicos Islands
Bermuda Guadeloupe U.S. Virgin Islands
British Virgin Islands Guam  

  Back to all F.A.Q.